contact us

Use the form on the right to contact us.

You can edit the text in this area, and change where the contact form on the right submits to, by entering edit mode using the modes on the bottom right.

 

5220 Dexter Ann Arbor Rd.
Ann Arbor, MI, 48103
United States

Dzanc Books is a literary nonprofit press out of Ann Arbor Michigan that publishes literary fiction and nonfiction and hosts the literary journal The Collagist.

Lambs of Men, by Charles Dodd White

rEprint Series Ebooks

Lambs of Men, by Charles Dodd White

White - Lambs of Men - Cover.jpg
White - Lambs of Men - Cover.jpg
sale

Lambs of Men, by Charles Dodd White

7.99 9.99
Add To Cart

Description

Returning from the horrors of the First World War to recruit volunteers in his remote Appalachian home, Marine Sergeant Hiram Tobit finds the country changed. His mother has committed suicide, dredging up old resentments between Hiram and his father, Sloane. When a gruesome act of violence stuns the insular mountain community, father and son must journey together to see justice carried out while coming to terms with a deeply troubled family history.

Praise

“Written in the tradition of Charles Frazier and Ron Rash,Lambs of Men is that most rare of books: a violently beautiful story that is, at heart, a work of prose poetry.”

Mark Powell

ABOUT CHARLES DODD WHITE

Charles Dodd White was born in Atlanta, Georgia, and grew up in both the city and the woods. He currently lives in Asheville, North Carolina, where he teaches writing and literature at South College. He has been a Marine, a fishing guide, and a journalist. He is the author of the story collection Sinners of Sanction County and is co-editor of the contemporary Appalachian short story anthology Degrees of Elevation. His next novel,Benediction, is due to be released in early 2014 by Fiddleblack Press.